Just another WordPress.com site

CloudCroft–Trestle Hike

My tourist day didn’t last as long as I wanted it too.  So home I went, google I hit, and off to find some railroad trestles. 

hdr-IMG_3551

That white band on the horizon?  That’s the White Sands. 

hdr-IMG_3556

There was SNOW!

hdr-IMG_3557

hdr-IMG_3559

These are the ‘S’ trestles.  The vast amount of lumber used to hold these rails was incredible. 

hdr-IMG_3566

hdr-IMG_3568

hdr-IMG_3569

Those bolts and ties have been there since the last 1800’s. 

hdr-IMG_3562

hdr-IMG_3563

hdr-IMG_3564

hdr-IMG_3565

If you look across you can see an overlook that you don’t have to hike too.  But the hike is a moderate one, but at 8,000 feet.  So remember you’re going to work a little harder than normal. 

hdr-IMG_3578

hdr-IMG_3570

hdr-IMG_3574

hdr-IMG_3577

Of course I had to climb down and take some different pictures.  Had there not been snow on the ground, I’d have ventured further into the gorge. 

IMG_3595

IMG_3596

I have no clue what sort of bird that is.  I heard plenty of them today, but I saw only this one. 

hdr-IMG_3586

hdr-IMG_3593

hdr-IMG_3600

hdr-IMG_3608

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

