Just another WordPress.com site

I’ve fiddled around with my new camera and have gotten used to it enough that I’m more comfortable with it.  Last night, after the deluge of rain we got, I knew the river would take on that sweet calm.  I hoped for some nice light.  Jules was getting ready for bed and I changed into jeans and hopped onto the 4 wheeler and jetted off to the Island in Lille.

hdr-IMG_3892

My newest lens isn’t as good as my old one (270 vs 300) but I do like it, a little more stable and I find that on the zoom it does just as good a job as my old one.

hdr-IMG_3895

hdr-IMG_3896

hdr-IMG_3898

hdr-IMG_3899

hdr-IMG_3900

hdr-IMG_3901

I think I have said this before – photographs are 2D while what we see, in life, is 3D.  The lens, camera, whatever – only captures a faction of what the human eye can see.  This is where settings and lighting and even post processing can come in.

I get lazy sometimes and just slap it into auto and take pictures, dealing with everything else in post.  That’s when you are shooting on the fly and don’t have the time to fiddle with the camera.

hdr-IMG_3906

hdr-IMG_3907

hdr-IMG_3908

hdr-IMG_3909

hdr-IMG_3910

hdr-IMG_3912

hdr-IMG_3902

The water is super high this year so makes for a mirror like reflection.  Now, about that whole 2D vs 3D thing.  I don’t have anything over the top expensive to do post, its this program called PhotoImpact.  I like it, mainly because I got PI in 1996 and have stuck with it (I got PI 2 and its now up to 13).  I’ve tried lightroom and stuff, but the plug ins and apps drive me bonkers!  I’m not a professional, I am a girl who sees this through the lens of a camera differently.

hdr-IMG_3914

hdr-IMG_3915

hdr-IMG_3917

hdr-IMG_3922

hdr-IMG_3923

hdr-IMG_3924

hdr-IMG_3929

The thing about sunsets and sunrises, they don’t last forever.  Zoom in, zoom out, snap shots.  If a blog post is 30 pictures, I’ve taken about 90.  Same shot, different settings.

hdr-IMG_3930

hdr-IMG_3935

hdr-IMG_3937

hdr-IMG_3938

hdr-IMG_3940

The light near the river was fading so back on the 4 wheeler and jetting off to the church.  I was hoping to catch the last of the fledgling light and I did.  After a quick “hi, how are you doing” to the owner of the Church, I zoomed down and snagged a few photos.

1 – taking pictures at night means being stung by mosquitos

2 – those sucks are mean

3 – I’m by no means a great picture taking, at least, I don’t think so.  I see things differently, I’ve been told, so I’m always on the lookout for that.  Last night while moving around in the cemetery, I saw the cast reflection of the fading light on a few headstones.

I do like the way they came out.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

