Just A Maine Girl Embarking on Adventures

Chasing The Light

After a long day at work, all I want to do is sit down and relax.  That’s the light at the end of the tunnel, sit, kick back, read, study, relax put on some mindless TV show for a few hours and bask in the light thrown from the pellet stove.

Instead, today I went out in the chill and fading light to snowblow my drive, while my wife prepared supper. 

I took the dog out for a run, and saw that the sun was setting behind the mountain before the house.  Everyone knows I have a love affair with that mountain.

HDR-IMG_9473

HDR-IMG_9474

At this point, the wind started to whip and cool and all I wanted to do was go back inside, but I knew that the light, that ever elusive light was changing.  So I ducked back under some trees to get shelter from the wind. 

HDR-IMG_9476

HDR-IMG_9494

I was about to give up.  No.  Really.  I knew my lens was going to be peppered with snow but I really wanted to see if the wonderful clouds were going to yield something spectacular to look at and better yet, take a good picture.

HDR-IMG_9496

HDR-IMG_9499

Then it started to happen. The golden moment. 

HDR-IMG_9507

HDR-IMG_9511

I quickly played with one setting after another.  Trying different things.  My fingers frozen and shivering rather hard, but I was not moving until I got a few more shots. I like the cold anyway Smile 

HDR-IMG_9540

HDR-IMG_9543

HDR-IMG_9543

HDR-IMG_9544

HDR-IMG_9545

A camera can never ever catch/capture/save for eternity what the human eye can see. The 3-D technocolored details.  A photo is flat (No 3-D printer here yet!) 

HDR-IMG_9551

HDR-IMG_9546

HDR-IMG_9547

HDR-IMG_9550

Sometimes sitting in the snow is worth it. 

JMC

Comments on: "Chasing The Light" (2)

  1. Gorgeous! You got some great shots, Jan!

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud